News & events

The i and The Sunday Times take home newspaper of the year awards

London Press Club announces this year’s winners via a virtual award ceremony. 

The delayed awards ceremony announced today that the i newspapers took home ‘Daily newspaper of the year’ and The Sunday Times was awarded ‘Sunday newspaper of the year’. 

Other winners included The Times’ Anthony Loyd who won ‘Print journalist of the year’ for his exclusive with ISIL bride Shamima Begum in Northern Syria. Loyd commented: “there is never a better alternative for a foreign correspondent in getting scoops or breaking stories than being on the ground… something that Zoom or virtual meetings can never replace.” 

‘Scoop of the Year’ went to The Daily Telegraph for its Sir Philip Green Exposé and 'Digital Journalist of the Year' was won by Matt Chorley for his Red Box with The Times.

And finally, 'The Edgar Wallace Award for Writing or Reporting of the Highest Quality' was given to Marina Hyde from The Guardian.


Want the latest news, opinion and insight on news brands?
Sign up and we'll send you a weekly update.

Sign up here

Get in touch

3rd Floor
3 Marshalsea Road

0203 949 7470


Keep up to date

Please take a minute to answer a few questions on our new website. The feedback you provide will help us make the website easier for you to navigate and ensure you can find the content you’re after. In addition, we’ll enter you in to a prize draw for a £100 Amazon voucher*.

Take Survey Not now Never