News & Opinion

London Press Club Awards shortlist announced

The Times, Daily Mail and i are nominated for Newspaper of the Year, with The Mail on Sunday, Sunday Times and Sunday Mirror are in contention for Sunday Newspaper of the Year.

The awards will be presented at the London Press Club Awards Lunch on Tuesday 1 May at Stationers' Hall, Ave Maria Lane, London, EC4M 7DD. 

The full shortlist is as follows:

Business Journalist of the Year (Sponsored by eToro)

Iain Dey, The Sunday Times
Martin Lewis,
Ruth Sunderland, The Mail on Sunday

Broadcast Journalist of the Year (Sponsored by Associated British Ports)

Katya Adler, BBC Europe editor
Kay Burley, Sky News
Laura Kuenssberg, political editor, BBC News

Digital Journalist of the Year (Sponsored by Google)

Heidi Blake,
Matt Chorley, editor, Times Red Box
Jonathan Liew, chief sports writer, The Independent

Print Journalist of the Year (Sponsored by The Madison Square Garden Company)

Matthew D'Ancona, columnist, The Guardian, Evening Standard
Tim Shipman, political editor, The Sunday Times
Janice Turner, The Times

Scoop of the Year

The Sun: 'Pestminster – Westminster sex pests', Harry Cole and Tom Newton Dunn
The Daily Telegraph: Prince Harry interview, Bryony Gordon
The Times: 'Facebook child porn', Alexi Mostrous

Daily Newspaper of the Year (Sponsored by Cision)

Daily Mail
The Times

Sunday Newspaper of the Year

The Mail on Sunday
Sunday Mirror
The Sunday Times

Source: London Press Club

by Emma Handley 09/04/18

Want the latest news, opinion and insight on newsbrands?
Sign up and we'll send you a weekly update.

Sign up here

Get in touch

120 Charing Cross Road

020 7839 8935


Keep up to date

Please take a minute to answer a few questions on our new website. The feedback you provide will help us make the website easier for you to navigate and ensure you can find the content you’re after. In addition, we’ll enter you in to a prize draw for a £100 Amazon voucher*.

Take Survey Not now Never