Newsworks Planning Awards 2016


The Newsworks Planning Awards, run by Newsworks on behalf of the leading national newspapers in the UK, were created in 2013 to celebrate the UK's outstanding planning talent in media agencies and beyond.

Entries are across seven categories and take full account of today's multi-platform and multimedia environment. The 2016 awards were judged by a panel comprised of leading marketers and agency experts, chaired by David Wheldon, chief marketing officer at RBS.

The awards will be presented at a party at the Century Club on Wednesday 30 November 2016.

Register for party



Key dates

27 November - Awards party


Key dates

30 November - Awards party


Best newspaper campaign

Manning Gottlieb OMD - Specsavers
Manning Gottlieb OMD -John Lewis Christmas
Mindshare - Ford
Target Media - STUDIOCANAL

Best newsbrand campaign

December 19 - Ramblers Worldwide Holidays
Manning Gottlieb OMD - Sony Pictures' Spectre
MediaCom - Shell
OMD UK - Tropicana

Best topical campaign

OMD UK - Channel 4's Eden
OMD UK - Walkers
Mindshare - Unilever
the7stars - McArthurGlen

Omnimedia award

Amplifi - Microsoft Xbox
Manning Gottlieb OMD - Sony Pictures' Ghostbusters
PHD - McCain
the7stars - Cockburn's

Best content partnership

Goodstuff - Hiscox
Havas Media - Kia
MEC - Vodafone's Late Night Standard
MediaCom - Shell
OMD UK - Boots
the7stars - McArthurGlen

Best use of insight

MediaCom - ŠKODA
- The National Autistic Society
PHD - Sainsbury's

Effectiveness award

Blue 449 - Currys PC World
Havas Media - Kia
Manning Gottlieb OMD - Waitrose
- Vodafone's Print Sells
OMD UK - Boots

Judges and chair

David Wheldon 310

David Wheldon - Chair

chief marketing officer

Royal Bank of Scotland

Jude Bridge 310

Jude Bridge

executive director marketing, fundraising & public affairs

Marie Curie Cancer Care

Vanessa Clifford 310

Vanessa Clifford

interim CEO


Rachel Eyre

Rachel Eyre

head of marketing propositions


Kristof Fahy 310

Kristof Fahy

chief marketing officer


David Fletcher 310

David Fletcher

chief data officer

MEC London

David Grainger

David Grainger

chief strategy officer


Dan Hagen 310

Dan Hagen

chief strategy officer


Judy Harman

Judy Harman

planning director


Mark Holden 310jpeg

Mark Holden

head of strategy

Arena Media

Richard Huntington 310

Richard Huntington

chief strategy officer

Saatchi & Saatchi

Stephen Knight 310

Stephen Knight

owner & CEO


Katrina Lowes

Katrina Lowes

head of marketing

Vodafone global enterprise

Alistair MacCallum 310

Alistair MacCallum



Tim Pearson 310

Tim Pearson

chief executive officer


Kirsty Redfearn 310

Kirsty Redfearn

head of consumer & digital marketing

MasterCard Europe

Denise Turner 310

Denise Turner

insight director



Previous years

2015 awards

Chaired by Jan Gooding, group brand director at Aviva, the awards attracted a record 94 entries from 23 agencies, covering 62 brands. Winners included M2M, MediaCom, PHD, Mindshare, Manning Gottlieb OMD and OMD UK, with the chair's awards going to Channel 4's Alternative Election Night.

Find out more

2014 awards

Chaired by Amanda Rendle, HSBC's former global head of marketing, the 2014 competition saw MediaCom, Mindshare, Manning Gottlieb OMD, Initiative, Carat, and OMD UK take home prizes, with Cancer Research winning the chair's award.

Find out more

2013 awards

The inaugural year was led by Unilever's senior vice president of marketing, Marc Mathieu. 2013 winners included Initiative, Manning Gottlieb OMD, KR Media and MediaCom.

Find out more

Get in touch

3rd Floor
3 Marshalsea Road

0203 949 7470


Keep up to date

Please take a minute to answer a few questions on our new website. The feedback you provide will help us make the website easier for you to navigate and ensure you can find the content you’re after. In addition, we’ll enter you in to a prize draw for a £100 Amazon voucher*.

Take Survey Not now Never